Libros Schmibros at the Hammer (Fall 2011)

For six weeks, and by popular demand held over an extra four weeks, Libros Schmibros created a library in the first-floor gallery of UCLA’s Hammer Museum. Our Boyle Heights location remained open parallel hours, and we created cross-town literary programming.

View the event on the Hammer Museum web site here.

 

Grand Opening and Book Drive Westwood: Saturday August 27, 2011

Boyle Heights Writers Play Westwood Kristy Lovich, Luis Rodruiguez, and Abel Salas. Thursday, September 1, 2011.

Jerome Vered’s Crosstown L.A. History Trivia Night Two part quiz, Westwood and Boyle Heights: Saturday, September 3, 2011.

Ruben Martinez and. . .Ruben Martinez Boyle Heights: Thursday, September 8, 2011.

Car Schmar Marisela Norte, Richard Rayner, and D.J. Waldie, Westwood: Saturday, September 10, 2011.

Lower Left Blue: L.A. Cartography Westwood:Thursday, September 15, 2011.

Visionary L.A. Book Artist Sandow Birk Westwood: Wednesday, September 21, 2011.

Marathon Reading of Jack Kerouac’s On the Road Westwood: Thursday, September 22, 2011.

Thomas Pynchon’s L.A. Trilogy: conversation with Mark Z. Danielewski Boyle Heights: Thursday, September 29, 2011.

Boyle Heights History Night: conversation with George Sanchez Boyle Heights: Saturday, October 1, 2011.

L.A.’s Unsung Hometown Oracles Westwood: Sharon Sekhon, Susana Chavez-Silverman, and Mike the Poet Sonksen. Thursday, October 6, 2011.

A Boyle Heights Havdalah with Jonathan Gold Boyle Heights: Saturday, October 8, 2011.

Closing Day Festivities + CicLAvia Westwood and Boyle Heights: Sunday, October 9, 2011.

Extended Stay in Westwood:

Hammer Reading Group: Architecture of the Four Ecologies Westwood: October, 2011.

Orale: An Evening of Boyle Heights Stories at the Breed Street Shul Boyle Heights: November 2, 2011.

 

View the event on the Hammer Museum web site here.